Houston County, Texas

401 E. Goliad, Ste 201 • Crockett, Texas 75835 936-544-3255



2025 Houston County Resolution Indigent Defense Grant Program

WHEREAS, under the provisions of the Texas Government Code Section 79.037 and Texas Administrative Code Chapter 173, counties are eligible to receive grants from the Texas Indigent Defense Commission to provide improvements in indigent defense services in the county; and

WHEREAS, this grant program will assist the county in the implementation and the improvement of the indigent criminal defense services in this county; and

WHEREAS, Houston County Commissioners Court has agreed that in the event of loss or misuse of the funds, Houston County Commissioners assures that the funds will be returned in full to the Texas Indigent Defense Commission.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED and ordered that the County Judge of this county is designated as the Authorized Official to apply for, accept, decline, modify, or cancel the grant application for the Indigent Defense Formula Grant Program and all other necessary documents to accept said grant; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the County Auditor is designated as the Financial Officer for this grant.

DocuSigned by:

Adopted this 24th day of September, 2024.

Signed by:

Gary Lowell

Gary Lovell, Commissioner, Prec 1

Signed by:

Leve Stokes

28684BA97D21460...

Gene Stokes, Commissioner, Prec 3

Jim Lovell, Houston County Judge

DocuSigned by:

Willie Kitchen, Commissioner, Prec 2

Signed by:

Jimmy Henderson

E4F3F835C4DF486...

Jimmy Henderson, Commissioner, Prec 4

COUNTY OFFICIALS

Jim Lovell,

County Judge

Gary Lovell.

Precinct 1 Commissioner

Willie Kitchen,

Precinct 2 Commissioner

Gene Stokes,

Precinct 3 Commissioner

Jimmy Henderson,

Precinct 4 Commissioner

Terri Meadows,

County Clerk

Daphne Session,

County Attorney

Janis Omelina,

County Treasurer

Laronica Smith,

Tax Assessor/Collector

Randy Hargrove,

County Sheriff

Mike McCreight,

Justice of the Peace Prec 1

Morris Luker,

Constable Prec 1

Ronnie Jordan.

Justice of the Peace Prec 2

Kenneth Smith,

Constable Prec 2

Sarah Clark,

County Court at Law Judge

Donna Kaspar,

District Attorney

Laura Goolsby,

District Clerk

Melissa Jeter,

County Auditor

Mark Calhoon,
District Judge 3rd District

Pam Foster Fletcher,

am Foster Fletcher,

District Judge 349th District

Charles Hodges,

County Surveyor

Heath Murff,

Fire Marshal/EMC

Sheila Johnson,

Grants Administrator

Mike Maiden,

Veteran Service Officer

Cynthia Lum,

Elections Administrator

Carl Johnson, Facilities Administrator